Upgrading From Version 2.1.x

Introduction

The 3.0.x release is completely new from the ground up. The code has been completely rewritten, there is a new control panel, and the template system has been updated. Many new features have been added, however some of the legacy features have now been removed. Please have a look at the demo to make sure you want to upgrade before you begin this process. You should allow at least an hour for this upgrade. Because of the new template system, the old templates cannot be converted and you will need to redo all of your templates.

Make a Backup

The first thing you should do is a database backup from the control panel of your 2.1.x installation. In the control panel select the Backup/Restore Databases function, then press the execute function button. You will be taken to a page where you can select the backup file name for your data. Enter the filename you want your data backed up to, or you can just leave it as the default.

Once you have decided on filenames, make sure the Backup Data function is selected in the dropdown menu. Press the execute function button, and you will then be returned to the main administrative page. The backup function will run in the background, so you should allow at least 60 seconds for it to complete before you move on to the next step.

FTP into your server and change into the data directory of your installation. You will find the backup file in this directory and it will have the filename you selected when you did the backup. Download this file to your local computer in ASCII mode for safe keeping.

Export Your Data

Now you need to export your 2.1.x data into a format that the 3.0.x version can understand. This is simple to do with the export utility included with the 3.0.x version. In the utilities directory of the software distribution you will find a file named agp2.1.x.cgi. Upload that file to your server in ASCII mode to the same directory where your 2.1.x agp.pl file is located. Set it's permissions to 755 and then bring it up in your browser. It may take a few minutes for the data export to complete. Once it does you will see a message telling you to continue to the next step of the upgrade process.

The export script has created a file in the data directory of your 2.1.x installation. The file is named upgrade-data.txt. FTP into your server and download this file. It is very important that you download the upgrade-data.txt file in binary mode or it will be corrupted and will not be readable by the 3.0.x installation.

Decision Time

At this point you need to decide if you want to install the new version in a new directory or keep the same directory name. The benefit of installing in a new directory is that you can keep the old version running while you work with the new version. The benefit of keeping the same directory name is that you will not have to change any links or bookmarks to the script.
Importing Your Data

Once you have your 3.0.x installation up and working properly, you can import the 2.1.x data. FTP into your server and upload the upgrade-data.txt file to the data directory of your 3.0.x installation. It is very important that you upload the upgrade-data.txt file in binary mode or it will be corrupted and will not be readable by the 3.0.x installation.

Next you will need to login to your 3.0.x control panel. Locate and click on the Backup Database link in the Setup section of the control panel menu. AutoGallery Pro 3.0.x will then display a page where you can enter the filenames of your data export files. In the "Datafile Backup Filename" field enter upgrade-data.txt. Once the field is filled in, click on the Restore button. AutoGallery Pro will read the data file and import the data from your 2.1.x installation. This may take a few minutes, so allow enough time for it to complete. After enough time has elapsed, you can continue begin using the software as usual.

Removing 2.1.x

Once your data has been imported and you are sure that you no longer need the 2.1.x installation you can delete it from your server. Simply delete all of the 2.1.x files and folders.