Moving AutoGallery Pro

Introduction

As you may know, finding a great host for your website can be very difficult. Because of this, it is sometimes required that you move to a new server at a new hosting company. This document will give you an overview of what needs to be done in order to transfer AutoGallery Pro and your data to a new server.

Backup Your Data

The first thing you will need to do is backup your database from the old server. This is easily done through the control panel using the database backup feature. Follow the instructions in the Database Backup section of the software manual to backup your data. The backup feature will backup most things for you, however if you have edited any of the .tpl template files you will need to transfer those to your new server seperately. You will also need to transfer all of your preview thumbnails manually. Make sure to transfer them in binary mode and set their permissions to 666 on the new server.

Install on the New Server

Next, you will need to install AutoGallery Pro on your new server. It is very important that you do not copy any files over from your old server. You should proceed with the installation as if it is the first time it is being installed. Follow the instructions in Installation section of the manual to complete the installation. Once you have done that, you can upload any customized .tpl files to your templates directory and your preview thumbnails, if you haven't already.

Restoring Your Data

After you have the new installation done on your new server, follow the instructions in the Database Backup section of the software manual to restore your data. Once your data has been restored you can continue using the software as normal. The first thing you will want to do is rebuild all of your pages so that they will display the HTML and galleries from your previous installation.