Upgrading From Version 3.0.x

Introduction

The upgrade procedure for going from version 3.0.x to 3.1.x is very similar to doing a simple patch of the software. There are some special instructions which will be noted, so be sure to pay special attention to those.

Upgrading

Upgrading your installation is very simple. All you need to do is upload the new files from the new version to your server. All of the files that need to be uploaded are listed below. You should not run any upgrade scripts when patching your installation, those are only used when upgrading from a previous major release.

Notice For version 3.1.x the patch.cgi script has been moved into the admin directory. Since you are upgrading from the 3.0.x version, delete the patch.cgi script from the base directory of your installation and be sure to upload the new patch.cgi script to the admin directory and set it's permissions to 755.

Notice The 3.1.x version adds a new script named partner.cgi. Make sure you set 755 permissions on this script once it has been uploaded.
Once all of the files have been uploaded, change the permissions on the cron.cgi and scanner.cgi files to 777. You can then bring up the patch.cgi script in your browser which will update those two files with the correct settings. After that has been successfully completed, change the permissions back to 755 on the cron.cgi and scanner.cgi files.

The last thing you will need to do is login to your control panel and access the Edit Options interface. Check all of the settings to make sure they are how you want them and then press the Save Settings button. You should do this even if you do not make any changes, as the software will need to create some new files when it saves your settings. You are now complete with the patching process.

Notice The 3.1.x version includes some changes to the TGP page template system. Most important is the change to how the LOCATION option of the INSERT sub-directive works. Previously, the LOCATION option would only take into account submitted galleries when calculating where to insert the HTML code. In the 3.1.x version it takes into account both submitted and permanent galleries when calculating where to insert the HTML code. For this reason, if you are using a GALLERIES directive that has both an INSERT and PERMANENT sub-directive you will likely need to make some changes to the LOCATION value of the INSERT sub-directive.

Notice The confirmation e-mail feature can now be configured individually for partner and normal submissions. If you are using the confirmation e-mail option, be sure to check the new settings in the Edit Options interface to see that they are configured how you want them.

Notice There are a few new options in the Edit Options interface. It is recommended that you go through all of the options after your upgrade to make sure they are set how you want them.

Important Notes

If Perl 5 is not located at /usr/bin/perl be sure to update the first line of all .cgi files with the correct path to Perl on your server.

Make sure you upload all of the files in ASCII mode!

It is not necessary to delete any files from your server before you upload the updated scripts. If you do delete any files, make sure you reset all permissions on the files you upload. All file permissions are covered in the Installation section of the manual.